Keppler Speakers/Ron Jaworski

NEWARK – The New Jersey Hall of Fame today announced its 14th class of inductees, once again highlighting some of the state’s best and brightest.

The inductees showcase the wide ranging talent of the Garden State, from former Eagles quarterback Ron Jaworski to comedian Chelsea Handler. Other inductees include singer-songwriter and drummer Max Weinberg. 

The Hall of Fame will broadcast at a later date a virtual induction ceremony on My9NJ and on NJ PBS, radio and prominent social media platforms, making the event widely available to the public. A live ceremony is planned for 2023.

“New Jersey is never at a loss for heroes and role models for coming generations,” NJHOF Chairman Jon F. Hanson said in a release. “We are honored to celebrate the lives and contributions of these notable New Jersey luminaries throughout the state, at our terminals and Parkway service areas, and next year at our Entertainment and Learning Center at American Dream.”

Twelve inductees in five categories were chosen out of 50 nominees after an online public vote. The members of the New Jersey Hall of Fame Class of 2022 are:


Ron Jaworski**, Voorhees, former Philadelphia Eagles quarterback and National Football League analyst

Heather O’Reilly, East Brunswick, professional soccer player and three-time Olympic medalist

Performing Arts

Chelsea Handler, Livingston, Award-winning comedian, television host, best-selling author and advocate

Max Weinberg, Newark, drummer and television personality


Ralph Izzo, Cranbury, businessman and former nuclear physicist

Dr. Roy Vagelos, Westfield, physician and business executive

The Unanue Family, Alpine, Ridgefield Park, founder of Goya Foods

Public Service

Governor Richard J. Hughes*, Florence Township, lawyer, politician, and judge

Dorothea Dix, Trenton*, Nurse and advocate for mentally ill

Arts & Letters

Margaret Bourke-White*, Bound Brook, photographer and documentary photographer

Walter Dean Myers*, Jersey City, writer of children’s books and young adult literature

Unsung Heroes

NJ Medal of Honor Recipients

*Being honored posthumously.

**Previous inductee, but being formally inducted this year.

Categories: State of NJ

Nanette LoBiondo Galloway

Award winning journalist covering news, events and people of Atlantic County for more than 20 years.