The Atlantic County Firefighters’ Association will hold its 100th Anniversary Parade and Celebration Saturday, Oct. 7 in Egg Harbor City where the association was founded.

The event will celebrate the service, dedication and endless contributions of firefighters all across Atlantic County.

The association was formed Jan. 17, 1923 under the guidance of Egg Harbor City Fire Chief Henry W. Breder. According to a poem written in 1948 by John J. McGeary, president of the Mays Landing Fire Department,  the organization’s motto would be “in unity there is strength.”

The six charter members of the association were Absecon, Egg Harbor City, Hammonton, Mays Landing, Pleasantville and Somers Point. Since then, the association has grown to include all of Atlantic County’s fire companies, both volunteer and paid departments. Its goals have remained constant – to provide an open forum for the exchange of firefighting techniques and ideas, coordinate communication and mutual aid, and to provide professional training for all levels of firefighting service.

The association’s 75th anniversary was also held in Egg Harbor City May 9, 1998. The pouring rain stopped long enough for spectators to enjoy seeing dozens of fire trucks converge on Philadelphia Avenue in a show of “unity for the safety of all.”

A Gala Parade will be held at noon on Philadelphia Avenue and proceed to Egg Harbor City Lake Park for muster and a trophy presentation at 2:30 p.m. Judging will be held 9-11 a.m. at the Egg Harbor City Industrial Park, where apparatus will line-up for the parade.

The event includes live music, free hot dogs, food trucks, and beverages for purchase. Souvenirs, such as mugs, glasses, T-shirts and challenge coins will also be available. Multiple raffles will be held for items including large-screen TV, a custom New Yorker helmet, overnight stay at a local resort and 50/50.

Updates are available at

Categories: Downbeach

Nanette LoBiondo Galloway

Award winning journalist covering news, events and people of Atlantic County for more than 20 years.